Early members of the board and their families stand by the Pitt painting.
The Westmoreland County Museum was incorporated on July 20, 1939. It was founded to work with the Westmoreland Womens’ Club and the Westmoreland Garden Club to build a facility which would provide a final destination for the Sir William Pitt [Lord Chatham] portrait and commemorate Westmoreland’s rich history. The building was eventually turned over to Westmoreland County for their management and upkeep. The original board had five members which represented many of the well regarded families in the county. There are currently twelve members who still represent some of the original families but now include a much wider demographic representation of the community.